skip to main content

Prof Monty Mythen

Chair, ISEH Advisory Board; Head of Surgery Optimisation Research Group

Professional Biography

Prof Michael (Monty) Mythen is Chair of the Advisory Board for the ISEH and heads the Surgery Optimisation Research Group at the Institute.

Monty completed his UK anaesthesia fellowship (FRCA) in 1990, and then went on to gain an MD in 1995 and was appointed assistant professor at Duke University Medical Centre, North Carolina, USA before returning to the UK. He has a wide range of research interests including; peri-operative fluid management and trans-oesophageal Doppler, haemostasis in the critically ill, endotoxin and endotoxin immunity and the determinants of post-operative morbidity and mortality.

Monty is a prolific author and has extensive editorial involvement with a number of anaesthetic and critical care journals. He took part in the Caudwell Xtreme Everest project in 2007 and the Xtreme Everest 2 in 2012 as project leader; spending each time three months as the laboratory manager of The Smiths Medical High-altitude Laboratory, Namche, Nepal (3,500m).


Anaesthesia ,critical care, fitness for surgery, recovery from critical illness and surgery, hypoxia, heart attack and stroke recovery, metabolism, fluids.


His present appointments are:

Smiths Medical Professor of Anaesthesia and Critical Care, UCL and Honorary Consultant, Anaesthesia and Critical Care, UCL
Director, Centre for Anaesthesia, UCL
Executive Board Member, NIHR University College London Hospitals Biomedical Research Centre

Co-Director, Surgical Outcomes Research Centre (SOuRCe), UCLH

National Clinical Adviser - Department of Health - Enhanced Recovery Partnership.

Additional appointments are:
Elected Council Member Royal College of Anaesthetists. Board Member of The Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine. Chair of The Board and Council Member of the National Institute of Academic Anaesthesia. Editor-in-Chief Perioperative Medicine. Editorial board member: British Journal of Anaesthesia; Critical Care. Co-Chairman Evidence Based Peri-operative Medicine (EBPOM).